Mile Marker Zero

Mile Marker Zero
Mile Marker Zero

Mile Marker Zero was formed in 2005 when brothers Dave Alley (vocals) and Doug Alley (drums), alongside childhood friend Mark Focarile (keyboards) and original bassist Tim Rykoski met guitarist John Tuohy at Western Connecticut State University. They released their debut EP, The Haunted, in 2006 and began to captivate audiences as they were seen performing alongside the likes of Porcupine Tree, Underoath, Spock’s Beard and Devil Wears Prada.

Having created a buzz on the Northeastern prog circuit, the band returned to the studio to record their self-titled, full-length debut, Mile Marker Zero, in 2009 and were the first-ever unsigned artist to be featured in the popular Harmonix/MTV Games video game series, RockBand.

As time progressed, MMZ continued to make several notable live appearances, including shows alongside Periphery, Scale the Summit, Nothing More, Adrenaline Mob, Fair to Midland, and more. In 2014, the band released the electrifying Young Rust EP, which was lauded as “a must-listen for fans of commercial progressive music,” (Metal Insider) and saw the band receive the award for “Best Band (Connecticut)” at the 2016 New England Music Awards.

In 2017, Bassist Jaco Lindito joined the band and produced The Fifth Row, a concept album released in March of 2018. The narrative of the album is focused on the exponential growth of Artificial Intelligence, and its effects on humanity. The lead-off single, “The Architect” was featured in the acclaimed “NASCAR Heat 4” videogame. The Fifth Row has received rave reviews including:

The Fifth Row is remarkably confident, meticulously mapped out, and ceaselessly interesting, making it the band’s crowning achievement thus far and one of the first great genre albums of 2018.
– Jordan Blum,, 4.5/5 stars

This album acts as a summative exemplar of what traditional prog rock is, encompassing the very best elements born from the genre.
– Tyler Caldas,, 10/10 stars

Following the release of The Fifth Row, MMZ appeared as the opener for Riverside at RoSfest 2019 in Sarasota, Florida, and later performed at New Jersey Proghouse. As the 2020 COVID pandemic descended, the band pivoted from additional live performances to virtual festivals, including the Uncancelled Music Festival, Prog from Home, and Virtual ProgStock 2020. In between concerts, MMZ created the “Hour Zero” podcast, talking with notable guests including Marco Minnemann, Randy McStine, Harry Waters and more.

As 2021 began a new chapter in MMZ history, the band released a live album that they recorded during the quarantine. Entitled “Live & Confined,” the album was released worldwide on April 2, 2021.

Band Lineup
Dave Alley – VOCALS
John Tuohy – GUITAR
Mark Focarile – KEYBOARDS
Jaco Lindito – BASS
Doug Alley – DRUMS

ACR Management:
Official Website:

MMZ The Fifth Row
MMZ The Fifth Row

MMZ Live & Confined
MMZ Live & Confined